Another Teacher on AVCs v NSP

cord

Searched for other postings but nothing really answered my questions, so
here goes
21 years down with a VEC and I hope to "jump ship" after 33 years (2 years notional for a four year degree). I have been paying in to AVC's for the last few years through Marsh. I now see that the NSP scheme might be of interest. My questions are… can I do both AVC's and NSP's? If I were to take the NSP option and freeze the AVC's (if that's possible), in so doing take the actuarial reductions when I take early retirement, if still alive, would that not be a safer bet? OR am I talking rubbish??

Thanks for any replies

Re: Another Teacher on AVC's v NSP

Firstly I'm no expert,but went through this in hugh detail few months ago.
My understanding is you can have NSP and AVC provided your entire pension contribution stays under your tax relief threshold(age based). If you want to retire prior to 60 you cant get a quote on NSP from salary dept. You can fudge and say your retiring at 60... problem is you wil lstill be short the 40 yrs.
I'm a 65 retirement date and since i was deemed as having full 40 at 65 I wasn't allowed do NSP so AVC's for me.
From my research a big shock to me was that NSP amount you have payed in will be lost if you die prior to retirement while an AVC or PRSA will be payed on death.

From my research a big shock to me was that NSP amount you have payed in will be lost if you die prior to retirement while an AVC or PRSA will be payed on death.
That's a shock to me too. I always assumed that whatever pension contributions you made (and NSP too) would be paid on death -at whatever age- to spouse/children.

Last edited: