Amendment to an Act or Statutory Instrument SI in relation to Social Welfare entitlem

justsally

Can someone advise me on this. If regulations are being changed in relation to Social Welfare entitlement must reference be made in the amending Act to the specific part of the Act or Statutory Instrument which is being amended.

if this is posted in the wrong forum please move it.

Last edited by a moderator:
Re: Amendment to an Act or S.I.

Im not an expert on Social Welfare Acts, so not going to comment on their contents.

Sometimes authority to make regulations is delegated to a Minister in an Act of the Oireactas. The Minister makes these regulations by way of Statutory Instrument (S.I.). When an S.I. is signed by the Minister, it becomes law from that point forward. Regulations do not amend an Act, they are usually an additional layer of more detailed rules.

Can someone advise me on this. If regulations are being changed in relation to Social Welfare entitlement must reference be made in the amending Act to the specific part of the Act or Statutory Instrument which is being amended.
Presumably so or the amendment would hardly make any sense out of context! But as mentioned above perhaps you are referring to a situation in which the higher level rules and not the actual underlying legislation is being changed?

Thanks for the replies.

That's what I thought I understood to be the case. An Act was brought in, in 1997 which amended, by way of a subsection clause, an earlier Act.
In between the said first Act and the later Act amending the previous Act a S.I. was introduced through the Oireachtas and signed off in 1996. I cannot find any reference anywhere to the S.I. in the 1997 amendment. The said S.I. was benefical to some, including us.