Not open for further replies.

NatNif

Spouse’s/Partner's age: 29

Annual gross income from employment or profession: 70000
Annual gross income of spouse: 55000

Type of employment:
I am a Consultant
Spouse is Public Sector

In general are you spending more than you earn or are you saving?

Rough estimate of value of home 450000
Amount outstanding on your mortgage: 330000
What interest rate are you paying? 4.75

Other borrowings – car loans/personal loans etc
CU Loan of 12000
CC 1000

Do you pay off your full credit card balance each month? Mostly yes
If not, what is the balance on your credit card? 1000

Savings and investments: No Savings

Do you have a pension scheme? I dont, spouse does with Civil service pension

Do you own any investment or other property? No

Ages of children: None

Life insurance: Yes €30 per month

Utilities:
Gas ave €100pm
ESB

What specific question do you have or what issues are of concern to you?
We seem to be struggling every month with the bills. the biggest problem is that i try to save money but the OH spends more than they earn. I have tried talking to them abiout this but its is very difficult to broach the subject.

Hi Eileen,

thanks for the reply. I have suggested this to the OH and she is unwilling to go.

I have done up a spreadsheet of all our monthly expenses. We do keep seperate accounts and the OH is nearly always short and i ahve to carry the shortfall which in turn leaves me skint every month.

My expenses are the following every month
Mortgage 1387.43,
Life assurance 28.49,
Phone 85.00,
House Insurance 26.25
TV Licence 13.75
Gas 100.00
Electricity100.00
Holiday Budget 600.00
House Maintaineance 166.67
Public transport 450.00
Card duty 5
Food 178

The wife has a car and the expenses associated with that are approx as i don't know for sure as regards petrol but i pay the insurance, tax and servicing etc.
Car Insurance 33.00
Car Service 15.00
Food 200.00
Car Tax 37.50
Car Maintaineance 41.67
Card duty 5
Petrol 300.00