AIB flotation - expatriates

Joe Hill

I am an Irish citizen, now living in the Middle East (due in no small part to the collapse of the banking sector!).

I payed taxes in Ireland for more than 30 years, including towards the bail-out of the banking sector. Now I find that having suffered the pain of the down-side I am excluded from investing in AIB via the IPO, which seems to be open only to residents of Ireland and the UK.

I am no expert on IPOs, is this restriction normal/right?

Are you confusing a restriction an individual stockbroker applies to a government restriction?

I have seen Goodbody say that to become a client you need to be a resident of UK or Ireland, I imagine that is something to do with their regulation, and not to do with this particular IPO. Also I guess if someone was currently non-resident buy had an old Goodbody account then they'd have access to the IPO - they'd hardly check - I've not changed my address with them for a few years because they make it unnecessarily awkward (has to be done via mail).

There are other stockbroking firms involved, maybe see what they say.

No offence, but the brokers don't want to take on ginnets.
Its a lot of paperwork, similar to opening a bank account.

Well I fired off a complaint to the investor relations department - we'll see how far that gets!

Are you confusing a restriction an individual stockbroker applies to a government restriction?

I have seen Goodbody say that to become a client you need to be a resident of UK or Ireland, I imagine that is something to do with their regulation, and not to do with this particular IPO. Also I guess if someone was currently non-resident buy had an old Goodbody account then they'd have access to the IPO - they'd hardly check - I've not changed my address with them for a few years because they make it unnecessarily awkward (has to be done via mail).

There are other stockbroking firms involved, maybe see what they say.