Agricultural land as an investment

DeeKie

I have about 120,000 available to me and was thinking that instead of paying off the balance of the mortgage which we comfortably meet each month that I’d buy agricultural land in the south east. I have some one knowledgeable who I trust to help me find a suitable property. My thought is I’d buy it and let it, as an additional income source.

Has anyone done similar? Any tips out there?

What's the rate of return?
Between 2% and 3% if you're very lucky.

Has anyone done similar? Any tips out there?
Unless you've an interest in the land long-term, it's a crazy idea.
Decent land will cost you 7k+ per acre. More like 9k in some areas. So your budget isn't going to buy a huge amount.
You'd be lucky to rent it for 200 a year. Farmers can be quiet principled, so if you buy it and there was someone local who really wanted it, you might end up not being able to rent it to anyone.
If you ever want to get out, land is very illiquid, depending on immediate local demand.
You'll pay higher stamp duty rates, so there's a lot of upfront costs.
If you invest, it's not really for income, but a high risk gamble on value increasing. Unless you've a way to apply for agricultural relief for inheritance tax planning, I'd stay well away.

Between 2% and 3% if you're very lucky.

Unless you've an interest in the land long-term, it's a crazy idea.
Decent land will cost you 7k+ per acre. More like 9k in some areas. So your budget isn't going to buy a huge amount.
You'd be lucky to rent it for 200 a year. Farmers can be quiet principled, so if you buy it and there was someone local who really wanted it, you might end up not being able to rent it to anyone.
If you ever want to get out, land is very illiquid, depending on immediate local demand.
You'll pay higher stamp duty rates, so there's a lot of upfront costs.