Afraid to ask for payment!

ci1

Hi All, just want to get some opinions please.

I made an enquiry with an Irish Based website a while back about writing an article around what I do for a living!!
They came back and said deffo they would like to see my work and to send a draft through & they would get back to me and let me know what the next step would be.

I did this by mail 2 days later when I had the article finished but I never heard back from them...I sent 2 follow up mails with no response and then decided to just leave it presuming they were not interested.

Last week by chance I logged onto the website and there was my article exactly as I had submittedd it. Not edited, they had just added some graphics.

So while I was really happy about it I was also a bit peeved that they never advised me they were going ahead with it, and it has been up there since the end of March...

I sent the guy a mail pointing this out and he replied only today saying sorry, he forgot to tell me and that if I wanted I could have a weekly slot!

Am I thinking it strange that they did not
1. send a mail even out of courtesy to say thanks for the article and to let me know they were putting it up.
2. Are they offering me a weekly slot to write an article and wanting me to do it for nothing?

I have to get back to the guy and am not sure how to broach the subject. This is not something I normally do so I am unsure about how it works...
May it be a case that because I approached them that they think I will do it for nothing?

Did you at any stage discuss payment? I know of someone with a weekly article (800 words) in a provincial newspaper. Payment is €30 per article. They had to ask for payment at beginning before submitting anything.

Am I thinking it strange that they did not
1. send a mail even out of courtesy to say thanks for the article and to let me know they were putting it up.
2. Are they offering me a weekly slot to write an article and wanting me to do it for nothing?