Advice on voip setup please

fimel

Hi everyone

looking for some advice re home phone setup. Just had satellite broadband installed and looking at using voip. Has anyone any recommendation in regard to dsl router and voip ata so i can use traditional phones and avoid eircom for good. Been looking at a TP-link TL-WR841ND router and the cisco ata 186 just not sure that their compatible etc any advice gratefully received!

thanks for any help

Fimel

DSL is completely different technology to satellite (DSL is over Eircom phone line or their resellers) so a DSL router is not what you need, you need something with a WAN port you can connect to your satellite modem. By all accounts VOIP is flaky at best over satellite due to latency although I've no personal experience to confirm.

Edit: I think the router you mention isn't actually DSL at all so would possibly do the trick, latency issues excepted.

Thanks for gettin back to me, sorry to pick your brain but I've just been told about dual purpose devices, specifically a cisco spa122 which is both ata & router and was wondering would this be a viable alternative. Thanks for your help

Regards

Thanks for gettin back to me, sorry to pick your brain but I've just been told about dual purpose devices, specifically a cisco spa122 which is both ata & router and was wondering would this be a viable alternative. Thanks for your help

Regards

Not familiar with the devices so can't comment though should be a viable option. Before shelling out for any hardware though I'd try using a soft phone and trial VOIP account on your computer to test whether its possible on your satellite connection.

Hi