Additional person working in sole trader business

aimsir_te

Hello,

I am a sole trader and my co-habiting partner has been working for the business part-time for the past year. He is receiving social security from the state as part of a VTOS program but this is about to cease in which case he will begin working for the business full-time.
I am wondering which is the better option, make him an employee of the business or change the business from being a sole trader to partnership?

We are not married but are co-habiting.
No dependents.
I was previously a PAYE worker for 10 years. He spent time abroad and has intermittently been in receipt of social welfare here.
Our immediate concerns are to make the business profitable.
2018 projected turnover is 50k of which 15k is profit. Projected turnover next year is 70k with 45k profit.
We have remaining business loans of 10k
No mortgage but will probably jointly take on a mortgage in 2019/2020, to the value of 180k.
No other debts.

Thank you

Last edited:
Impossible to answer such a question without a lot of detail on your respective circumstances and plans. Get professional advice.

Yeah but we still know nothing of your respective skillsets and functions in the business, nor even in what sector you operate. Nor nothing of your personal relationship and respective short- and longer-term life and career goals.

only advice I can offer is to choose your partner more carefully than a wife/husband. You have more connection than a married couple. As a partnership you each need to be clear on who does what for the business. When a partner makes a business decision it also falls on you so you need a good strong trust between you.