Accounting apprenticeship or Accounting degree?

Heard that in the 80s too, and we all hear about the brilliance of the auditing of banks, Enron, in fact most financial scandals are attributed to the auditing by the big 4. Was Big 5 but when Arthur Andersen were caught essentially fiddling everything.

"Prestigious" indeed.
Regardless its still the case.

ACA is still the most ‘prestigious’ qualification, its the one I’d advise going for.

Heard that in the 80s too, and we all hear about the brilliance of the auditing of banks, Enron, in fact most financial scandals are attributed to the auditing by the big 4. Was Big 5 but when Arthur Andersen were caught essentially fiddling everything.

"Prestigious" indeed.
Very few ACAs audit any more though.

Where do you get that from?
Er, I work as an accountant, in practice. (I also audit.)
All the trainees that go into big 4 (well 99% of them) do ACA, their managers are most likely ACA, as is the audit director and audit partner.
Large firms are probably the only firms in the country doing much audit work anymore. Outside very large corporates, and regulated sectors like larger charities and regulated entities in the financial/insurance sectors etc, demand for audit services has fallen off a cliff as most other companies can avail of audit exemption. Even the Big 4 firms are far less reliant on audit work than they were 10, 20 or 30 years ago. Most newly-qualified ACAs these days will rarely if ever do audit work.

Er, I work as an accountant, in practice. (I also audit.)