26, relatively small debts, moving abroad?

S

shanomac

Hello all,

This is my first post, so please excuse me if I've posted this in the wrong section.

I am considering a move to the USA in the coming months. The moving isn't necessarily a problem, I will be staying with family until I get on my feet and am lucky enough to have dual citizenship (Irish and US). Getting on my feet shouldn't be too much of an issue either, as I am a Software Engineer with 3 years experience. However, my debts are weighing heavily on my decision to emigrate.

I have an overdraft of €1500 that I have found impossible to get out of since it was created 3 years ago (the bank recommended I do this instead of taking a loan when starting a new position), as well as a credit card debt that consistently hovers around its maximum of €1100.

I would like to pay it all off before leaving, but I'm worried that I'll just remain here indefinitely due to all the "little emergencies" that keep me chained to these debts in the first place.

I have also been considering a consolidating loan, which would wipe out both debts as they stand and leave me with an affordable monthly repayment. I'm aware that this is often another trap which may end up simply heaping more debt atop the festering pile; however, I would cancel the card and the overdraft immediately to ensure that they are no longer an option, enforcing a degree of frugality and budgetary responsibility.

So, what are my options? And, according to your best judgement, which option would be the best?