22 and a 2nd year college student in dire financial straights!!!

dieselhead

Hi everyone,

I am a college student in desperate need of some advice, I am in alot of debt, €10,000+ is the figure. I have an AIB student loan for a car from 3 years ago which is 130pm, insurance is €67pm, CREDIT UNION student loan €136pm which I am 2 payments behind, overdraft of €650 and my credit card has just been maxed out at €350.

I do not have a job and my savings have ran out, and am still unaware if I will get the student grant. i have handed out 30+ CVs in the last month to no avail, I really am on my last gasp.

I know consolidating them would be good but like will the bank give me a larger loan even tho I still owe them €5,500??? and even if they did I still would not be able to pay them back. I was considering selling my car but the NCT is out and it needs some work done to pass but the car is'nt worth the remaining balance on the loan because last year when I lost my job I ''topped up'' my loan back up to the €6000 I had originally borrowed because I needed money to pay for my insurance, college fees etc.

My parents are not in a position to help me, my father is pretty much bankrupt and my mother is trying to keep her business afloat.

I am 22 and a 2nd year college student and as far as I know I do not qualify for any help from the social welfare.

If anyone can help I would greatly appreciate it because my head is in ribbons and I have no idea what to do or where to go from here.

Thank You

Sorry I can't really help you, only to say that you should maybe contact MABS.

You seem to be living beyond your means. Stop taking out loans until you get a job.

Did you get out of the pub business?