20k to invest - complete novice!

C

cathkc

Hi
I am a 29 yesr old professional. I have a steady job with good prospects and currently with modest income 35k p/y. My longterm pathenr earns about the same.

In 2 months time I will come into €30k and I have no idea what to do with this money. The vast array of investment options is overwhleming!

Anyhow my partner and I own our own home - bought 2 years ago. I have a Rabo account which I save with regularly. I would really like to make this money work for me and am willing to invest at least 2/3 of it for 5 - 10 years hoping it would preform well. The other thrid - well new car and home improvements will do!

Anyone any suggestions of how I, as a complete investment novice, can even begin to consider my options would be greatly apprecaited?

Should I hire a independant financail advisor - or is the investment of just 20k to little to hire an advisor. If so any ideas what I could do with this money - seeing as I would be ok with parting from it for between 5 - 10 yrs and would consider myself willing to take a punt!

Thanks v much.....

Most of the banks including Rabo have V high interest rates now for people looking to capitalise on their SSIA savings. Personally I would stick it under the mattress as I have been stung in the past. You seem to have access to the internet so I would research, research, research in your own time. I would not put my trust in a 'so called' financial advisor who in fairness to them have to make a living but would not be all that interested in your well being. At least then you will only have yourself to blame if it all goes belly-up!!

Hi there,
Have you looked at rabo bank and noorthern rock. Quinn Direct also ahve funds - their SSIA did very well...

or you could be boring and put the money into your pension, where you would get tax back on what you put in...