1st meeting with accountant

O

Orchid

Hi all,
I started up as sole-trader nearly 1 year ago. I've set up an apointment with an accountant next week. I've kept my accounts clearly, but are perhaps not format which accountant will want.
I'm a designer and have had 9 clients so far. I've kept the reciepts and invoices in a folder for each client.
I've written out credits and debits (including expenses) by month in 1 book and by client in a second book.
I would prefer to organise the books myself, rather then pay the accountant to do the organising.

Would anyone have advice as to how best to present my info to the accountant to keep bill to a minimum?
I would be most grateful for any advice

For your first meeting set it up as a consultation. That way your interviewing them to see if there suitable to your business. Dont be afraid to ask if they have other clients in your industry - that way you wont be paying their hourly wage when their on to revenue to find out if certain specifics are deductable - they'll already know. Remember they need you as much as you need them.

Its often handy to keep your accounts in digital format for ease of editing and auto adding up. You can use a simple program like excel or the accountant might recommend some package (like "The Big Red Book") both very user friendly and time efficient if your computer literate.

Ask in advance how much they estimate that they will charge and make sure they answer - some will get vague and say it depends - reiterate "estimate".

Last thing i'd advise is to consider your accountant to be an advisor as well as a figure pusher. If you dont ask for advice they might not give it.