€8k debt, servicing it at €100/mth not making any dint on capital, unemployed €80/wk.

T

TheOnlyWay

Hi All.

Just quickly bring you up to date!

I have a 8K debt.

I have been servicing it at €100 a month for 2 yrs and it has not decreased at all! In total I have paid almost 4k in payments and interest in 4 yrs!

I am now unemployed and getting €80 a week.

I wrote to the bank to ask them to stop adding interest and charges and I also asked them to stop dipping into my current account as they are now running that into a debt as they are continuing to take out €100 every month from it that I was paying from my loan account. Any money that was in my current account has been gobbled up by the loan account............is this even legal??

I am currently reviewing my financial situation(literally what is below!) and trying to negotiate with them.

They rang and said that there was no way they would do either.....freeze the interest or stop running my current account into debt.....as in making it overdrawn!

I have looked at the MABS website. Where I originally got the letter to request them to stop interest and charges on my account.

I have no savings, I have €100 cash and income of €80 a week and I have no other assets.

They said I would need to pay a minimum of €150 a month to start cutting into the capital. I requested a final settlement figure for the loan and was told they could not do this.

I know I am in a financial disaster but it is impossible to get blood from a stone!

I also do not want to default on my responsibilities.

Any advice much appreciated.

Many thanks in advance.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi Kaz,

Thanks for your post. My debt is with AIB.

I was just reading your post on MBNA. I have learned alot!

Do you think that debt recovery is the same method used with every financial institute?

MBNA are a complete nightmare!!
I am quite surprised that AIB aren't more helpful. Have they threatened you with legal action?