Secondary school teaching:can't seem to get a job as a sub, even for a day.Any advice

dweller

Hi there,
can't seem to get a job as a sub, even for a day.Any advice? Only have a degree by the way, no hdip.
Dweller

Re: secondary school teaching

dweller said:
Only have a degree by the way, no hdip.
That there might be your problem. There are lots of qualified teachers available for subbing. What are your degree subjects?

Instead of starting a new thread, I will ask here, as my situation is similar. I have a degree in Maths, but didn't get a place to do the Hdip, (my degree is not from Ireland, although I have a Msc from UCC), and I've been told to do some sub to get experience and get some points before applying again. Where should I look? Thanks.

Write to all the schools you could reach by 9am and outline your availability and experience. I can't see that working long term though. Eventually you will probably displaced by qualified teachers. Does it have to be teaching hours in a secondary school to count for points? Or could you use teaching hours in primary school/evening class.

Have you considered giving Maths grinds to make ends meet?
If you declared and documented this income maybe it would count as teaching hours?

Have you requested that your course be considered for eligibility?

My course was recognised to access the Hdip, but because grading is so different in my home country, didn't reach the minimum, was short of a point!!!! (and I have a 1st Honours in my MSC here). And yes, it has to be secondary school teaching, I did some tutoring while studying but they won't take it into account. I might try again next year, but it's difficult to get the experience when in a FT job.

Contact schools directly. Outside of Dubin, there is a lot of subbing available - at a good hourly rate.

I think it is €37.50 unqualified.

Hi there,