Motor Windscreen breakage cover. Is it worthwhile?

Kimmagegirl

For some reason I always thought that windscreen cover was "thrown in" free of charge by my car insurance company. Maybe it was, back in the day. I recently negotiated my car insurance renewal with a different company over the phone and managed to reduce my premium by €40. Now €260.
I got my hard copy of my new policy premium breakdown in the post the other day. I noticed that there is a €35 charge for windscreen breakage cover included in the reduced quote.
I have been driving for over 40 years and I have never had a broken windscreen. Touch wood I won't have any windscreen damage in the future either.
I was never asked over the phone if I wanted this cover or not. It was assumed that I would be taking it. Maybe it's compulsory or maybe it is slipped in and they hoped I wouldn't notice it.
Anyhow. I assume that I can have this cover removed and save myself €35? Does anyone know if this is the case. Also does everyone usually include windscreen cover when renewing their policy?
It is amazing the money a person can save by knocking off the whistles and bells in a lot of purchases.

You're taking a big chance. Windscreens don't take much to break. I've had two replaced in the last 5 years. Other car/lorry throwing a chip up on my windscreen. Rang insurance - rang windscreen company - they replaced windscreen at my place of work.

You're €35 richer at the moment but if you break a windscreen it will costs you hundreds to replace.

You're taking a big chance. Windscreens don't take much to break. I've had two replaced in the last 5 years. Other car/lorry throwing a chip up on my windscreen. Rang insurance - rang windscreen company - they replaced windscreen at my place of work.

You're €35 richer at the moment but if you break a windscreen it will costs you hundreds to replace.