What's the best world market tracker? (For a Newbie)

Ruben86

Hi All,

I'm a newbie investor. I'm scouring the markets at the moment looking for good individual equity investments but I'm not confident enough in picking individual stocks yet and I want something that will just track the markets in general. I've heard iShares MSCI World ETF (NDDUWI) or The MSCI All Country World Index (ACWI) are the ones to go for. Any more seasoned investors here have any thoughts on that you could share? Not looking to reinvent the wheel here, just want to track the global markets.

Any feedback is much appreciated.

I assume you are already aware of the unfortunate ETF tax situation.

The MSCI World Index contains stocks of large companies located in developed countries, while the MSCI All Country World Index also contains stocks of large companies in some other countries. The latter is similar to the FTSE All-World index, for which there is a popular Vanguard ETF.

There are several low cost ETFs that track them. If the tax situation were better, they would be my top choice. US-focused indices have done better in recent (and not so recent) years, but it seems safer (over the long term, although potentially more volatile in the short term due to emerging market exposure) to me to get exposure to a greater diversity of countries. For this greater diversity, I would personally go with ACWI (or the similar FTSE index I mentioned) over the World Index.

Hi All,

I'm a newbie investor. I'm scouring the markets at the moment looking for good individual equity investments but I'm not confident enough in picking individual stocks yet and I want something that will just track the markets in general. I've heard iShares MSCI World ETF (NDDUWI) or The MSCI All Country World Index (ACWI) are the ones to go for. Any more seasoned investors here have any thoughts on that you could share? Not looking to reinvent the wheel here, just want to track the global markets.