What happens if pension co. goes under?

S

stugots

I have a PRSA with Custom House Capital. I understand that they are currently being investigated by the Central Bank for some 'unusual activities'. The suggestion from the Irish Times is that funds were moved from some customer accounts to prop up some ailing property funds. No funds are allowed into or out of CHC PRSA accounts while the investigation is ongoing.

My PRSA is a little unusual in that it is entirely invested in an illiquid asset with a maturity horizon of 15 years from now. Therefore, there were no funds that could have been extracted directly from my account. If it turns out that there is a deficit in the accounts of some CHC customers, how will this be handled? Is the burden shared by all CHC customers? Does the FSA insure against this circumstance?

Very interesting but of course regretful situation. If this is the case and I am no expert in this area I would believe that CBI would move on the company as it has and if any iregularties are found, the CBI would take legal proceedings against the company and move in its own administrators like it did with Quinn Insurance. If the deficit could not be covered by it's current assets the CBI may move to shut down operations and liquidate it assets. In this senario you would be making a claim under the Investor's Compensation Fund which all companies in financial services pay into.

If the deficit could not be covered by it's current assets the CBI may move to shut down operations and liquidate it assets. In this senario you would be making a claim under the Investor's Compensation Fund which all companies in financial services pay into.

The difficulty that arises in this situation is that the assets in my account cannot be liquidated. The assets consist of shares in a company that is not publicly quoted and therefore there is no market for them.

It's not clear to me what if any action the CB coul dtake on this account if liquidation occurs.