UK driving licence - must I exchange for IRL?

elefantfresh

I passed my test in 1988 in the UK - have used the same licence since. Pulled by garda and asked to show details which i did the following day in the station. Garda reckons i need to change my licence from UK to IRL as Irish points cannot be put on my UK licence. However, on reading the website transport.ie i can't see anything saying I MUST change over. They actually say that any EU licence is good until the day it expires which in my cast is anothor 30 years - when i'm 65 - i am a permanent resident here and Irish etc - just did my test in England.
anyone got any info on this? am i reading this correctly or can the garda actually force me to change over? why should i have to pay for a new one and renew every 10 years?

Myself and my wife have a UK licence and my wife was pulled last week - explained the same by the Gardai. I want to keep my licence purely cos it's good until 2041:D . I tried to get the DVLA in the UK to re-issue it with an Irish address, but an EU directive recently has said all licences must now be renewed every 10 years, that's now the case in th UK. You can keep using the old paper licences until they expire. I think there are moves affot to harminonise penalty points EU side, certainly UK / Ireland (particularly with the amount of drivers going up north and vice versa).

Mind you, have had no issue with car rental or insurance (i.e getting it) here.

I also have a uk full licence and was told that i didnt need to change my licence, however i am considering doing so. Three reasons,

When the European licence comes in i'd rather have an Irish one than an English one ( I know thats a while off yet)

I recently got married and cant use my drivers licence to travel unless I book flights in maiden name.

I think there is something about not having notified DVLA on a change of address, and they can't, won't put an Irish address on licence.