Travel insurance for cancer patients

Vourneen

Just wondering if anyone has any info re getting travel insurance to the EU when one has stage iv cancer? My onc regards it as a chronic rather than terminal condition and has written a letter stating that I am well enough to travel but all the travel insurers I've contacted won't offer me insurance. If I was a UK resident I would be able to get travel insurance from there but as I'm resident in Ireland they won't cover me. Maybe I'm answering their questions with the wrong words. Any advice would be appreciated.

Yes but am worried if something goes wrong I won't be covered for repatriation or whatever else might be needed. I think if people are advised to travel with travel insurance a person with a chronic condition needs to have full cover

Vourneen, if you have private health insurance, check your overseas cover on that. I have just checked our Laya policy and they cover repatriation.
In the event of a medical emergency abroad, their loss adjuster deals with the hospital etc. My OH was in a private hospital abroad without holiday insurance and as it was a medical emergency Laya paid the bill.
You won't have cover for cancellation or theft but the latter may be covered under your household insurance.

I checked and I'm only covered for €100,000 for treatment of a medical emergency. No repatriation unfortunately.

I checked and I'm only covered for €100,000 for treatment of a medical emergency. No repatriation unfortunately.

In the event of it occuring how much would it cost to repatriate a patient from a EU hospitsl back to Irelamf

Last edited by a moderator:
In the event of it occuring how much would it cost to repatriate a patient from a EU hospitsl back to Irelamf

From this 2013 article: