Termination without warning

Guest1211

Hello all,

I was recently informed that I am being let go from work. I have been working in my role for for over 1 year. I work as a part of a team. My performance has been on par with the team throughout. I had no disciplinary actions, warnings or written notice yet was terminated. My question is,is it legal for an employer to fire somebody without warning , or following a disciplinary procedure?

If you are a member of a trades union, then contact your union. If you are not a member, then you are on your own. You can take advice here, seek legal help, ask your friends, bug the livin' daylights of your former employer but you probably will decide to let it go after some gung-ho thoughts. Your employer gets away, your old colleagues are now watching their backs and you are on your way to the Welfare office. When you get a new job, you will probably join a union on your first day.

Sorry for sounding so cynical, but I have seen it all before and I know I am not of much comfort.

you probably will decide to let it go after some gung-ho thoughts.

Hi Leper

You might be right, but the Employment Appeals Tribunal is designed to be solicitor free and user friendly. It costs a person nothing to take a case and it's very likely that the employer would settle before it goes to court.

Brendan

Were you fired (terminated) or are you being made redundant? They are 2 very different scenarios. Firing without due cause is one thing but if you are being made redundant then last in first out can be a valid means of selection.

I was fired not made redundant.
There was no warning or disciplinary action leading up to it. The first I heard that they were disappointed or unhappy with my performance was then they said they were letting me go.

It sounds like they have made a really big mistake. Do you have a contract, and does it stipulate conditions for such events?