Tax Return - 2007

kmelvin

Hi, I sold shares at the begining of 2007 and I've been told I need to do a Tax Return for that year.

I've never done a Tax Return before - is 'Form 11' the correct form?

Do I wait until I receive my P60 before I fill the Form in?

Should I claim my medical expenses for 2007 first (separately) before I send the Tax Return form in?

I appreciate any help you could give.

K

Hi, I sold shares at the begining of 2007 and I've been told I need to do a Tax Return for that year.
Who told you? If your general tax affairs (e.g. credits etc.) are already correct then presumably you just need to make a return/payment of CGT by the relevant filing/payment dates? See here for more info:

[broken link removed]

If in doubt get professional advice.
Do I wait until I receive my P60 before I fill the Form in?
If it's a CGT return then income tax issues (such as P60 etc.) are irrelevant.
Should I claim my medical expenses for 2007 first (separately) before I send the Tax Return form in?
As above - MED1 expenses are an income tax matter and separate from CGT matters.

This is from the CGT Help Leaflet:

'A return of chargeable gains must be made on or before 31 October in the year following the year of assessment (as for income tax Self-Assessment). The obligation to make a return exists even where a
person has not been issued with a return form by Revenue.'

'A PAYE taxpayer should make this return on a Form 12 or Form 12 Directors, as appropriate, and a self-assessed individual should make the return on a Form 11 or Form 11E.'

As far I know, all my tax details are fine. So I simply just need to fill in the relevant CGT section in Form 11 and send it to the tax office before 31st Oct?

Thanks Clubman​

If you were a PAYE worker in 2007 and you sold shares in 2007, you would need to complete a CG1 form for 2007. The 2007 version of this form is currently not available on the Revenue.ie website but should be on it around March next.