Solicitor fee for coming to auction

elainem

Hi! everyone, as posted previously, I am selling my house and mews with an amv of E3 million. I have been a client of this solicitor for about 10 years, and my mother was his client before me. I have negotiated a fee of 0.5%, given that the sale price is high, and I have bought and sold other properties with him before, and will be doing so again. My question is that he is based in the West of Ireland, and has to come up to Dublin for the auction. He is asking for an additional fee for this? Is this reasonable? I have suggested he use his Dublin agent for that afternoon, but he says he is not available. What are my choices/options? Thanks in advance.

0.5% of €3m = €15k.... I would think that should cover his trip to the capital for the afternoon.
Have your tried to approach other Dublin-based solicitors?

Pay him the money and don't be so stingy about it. If you're getting €3m for your house, you can surely afford to look after him. If the auction is messed up or delayed you might well end up with less than €3m.

When you say he is looking for an additional fee-do you mean simply travel expenses ? If its simple travelling expenses then on the whole scheme of things that might not come to much but if hes being smart and looking for a hefty amount for the trip then I would consider taking my business elsewhere.

Pay him the money and don't be so stingy about it. If you're getting €3m for your house, you can surely afford to look after him. If the auction is messed up or delayed you might well end up with less than €3m.