solartwin- solar heating

Carpenter

http://www.solartwin.com
Anybody have any experience of this product?
The idea and the technology seem sound but what is the Irish experience, if any? Any thoughts Heinbloed?

Carpenter

No direct experience myself but I am trying to get as much knowledge as possible on carbon-neutral living for my retirement property. £2,000 for a bungalow?........would that mean a larger panel needed for a family home? from the animation at the link you gave it looks foolproof. A number of builders I've spoken with about these systems comment on their unreliability as they depend on strong sunshine for sustained periods so a backup is needed.

I have no knowledge about " solartwin " . But check the estif homepage http://www.estif.org for EU standards to make sure if the product is good and efficient.There is an EU standard number.
The page of solartwin is complicated to get through , I could not find facts for efficiency.
Two panels are very,very small. The minimum you need is about 6m2 for the average household . Since they claim that their system is "flexible" and needs no frost protection the collector could be made of sub standard plastic pipes instead of metal/copper. "Substandard" because plastic is a bad heat conductor, as well it can't be soldered to fast transmitting metall heat collector surfaces. If it is so than stay away from this product , it would take ages to get something out of it .
In Germany the trend of new installations goes to 9m2 for warm water and 11m2 for combined domestic water and heating support.The panels are the cheapest part of the entire installation ( about 8% of the entire price incl.installation and VAT etc.), so they get the most out of it by using as much surface as possible.
Make sure as well that you get a well insulated and large enough storage tank, 300 liters are the absolute minimum.