Health Insurance Should I change these plans?

measuretwice

I signed myself and a family member (separate dwelling) up for healthcare plans last year before the Lifetime Community Rating came in.

These are up for renewal soon, and I was hoping someone could shed some light on whether we should switch to different plans or different providers. We both have pre-existing conditions, which if I understand correctly, the insurance will not cover until May 2019. I am a student so I have the benefit of an active medical card. I understand that if I bump up my own cover by May 2017 - that bumped up cover will be the level of cover that will apply to pre-existing conditions from May 2019. I am intending to bump the cover up then. I think the reason I opted to spend much more on my family member's policy is that they are in their 60s, and if they need to avail of healthcare for anything new I do not want them to have to wait the 4 years.

My policy €430: Assure Vitality

Family member's policy €1886: CompanyCare Plus

The forum will not me post links, but they are on Laya's website.

Should I switch either of these plans?

I remember last year there were articles by Dermot Goode and/or Charlie Weston describing the best plans, but I have only found similar articles for family plans so far.

Hi measuretwice,

There are a few alternative options to consider for your other family member, with a capped excess amount, regardless of the amount of admissions.
Details as follows;
1. Laya Simply Connect; price 1063pa, public,private and hi-tech hospital cover, 150 x 2 max excess per year, day case private excess 50 per visit, day to day cover max refund 300 per year.
2. Laya Simply Connect Plus; price 1169pa, public,private and hi-tech hospital cover, max excess 150 x 1 per year, day case private 50 per visit,
day to day cover max refund 500 per year.