Senior colleague hounding me daily… how to establish limits?

vincentgav

I do construction and renovation work, I’m a project manager with 15+ years under my belt.

We have problems with our main contractor, they don’t have enough staff, they’re slow, their foreman was sick for weeks, they make excuses. Senior management know the problems, they’re copied on everything I send, I want them to see that there’s an issue and namely that I’m responding and chasing them.

I’m not expecting the contractor to finish all. They’re not going to get all done and tools out by the end of this week. I know them well and unless there’s a miracle, it won’t happen. They’ve already started to wind up for Xmas.

My issue is a senior team leader who works in another department, who’s new in the job. This person has stated to me that they don’t like delays, (who does) and that they want X amount done and dusted by the end of the this week.

They’re copied on all my contact to the contractors, they’re told about any updates, etc. The problem is that I’m feeling hounded by them. I’m showing that I’m constantly chasing, they keep challenging me and asking am I inspecting, etc.

I remember my early 20s when you’d jump up and down and go mental ringing people 4 times a day to look eager, but I’m in my 40s now. I can see when the contractor is going to be done or not. I don’t get worked up anymore, cos it’s not good for my health and I don’t want to fall out with a contractor who, while slow at times, does excellent work for very reasonable costs.

I’m being chased daily by this person who isn’t my boss, constantly asking me for site visits and updates, explaining how urgent it all is, and it’s getting stressful for me. I gave an update Friday evening and I had an email this Monday morning first thing asking for further update..

Getting pissed off now, I don’t know why people don’t see that hounding and pedantry only annoys people. Also, they’re only here a few weeks, I’m here 5 years..