Savings whilst on social welfare

Zoybells

Hi there , I have a question about saving money whilst in receipt of social welfare , I try to save money as much as possible each year maybe 2-2.5 k depending on my outgoings and bills but recently I’m being investigated by the social welfare to see do I still meet all the necessary criteria to avail of said payment. I made some lodgements to my bank account which was from my cash savings at home after a holiday to Scotland and they are asking where the money came from after telling them it was cash I’d saved at home they are now threatening to cut my payment off because I didn’t declare said savings…. I didn’t know I had to tell them about any cash I managed to save at home? Has anyone else been in this situation ? I’m worried I’m going to be prosecuted for benefit fraud now

Any use?

Hi , I’ve read that , but I’ve been saving for 4 - 5 years now and had savings up to 7.5 k which have since been spent on 2 holidays in 2 years and household bills etc …. I no longer have the cash but there were a series of lodgements made for said holidays

Hi , I’ve read that , but I’ve been saving for 4 - 5 years now and had savings up to 7.5 k which have since been spent on 2 holidays in 2 years and household bills etc …. I no longer have the cash but there were a series of lodgements made for said holidays
I suppose you kept the saved money always at home in a jar or so? That might be a problem now- the DoSP might suspect you had some secret income you never told them about.
Try to talk to them and tell them the way you kept the money. By law you are entitled to have up to Euro 20000 in savings when you are on a means tested payment like JA. You are not obliged to keep that money on a bank account. But you are obliged to make a full statement when the DoSP does a means test on you.
You might get away with this if they believe your story.

Last edited: