RTÉ's "Room to Improve" -Dermot Bannon has Quantity Surveyor on board for new series.

Patrick2008

I was watching the new series of Room to Improve on RTE last night and I was glad to see that Dermot Bannon has a Quantity Surveyor on board for this series.

Its about time the series reflected the realities of how a project should be carried out with a competent Architect and Quantity Surveyor working on behalf of the Client

I hope all self builders take note and make this small investment in employing a Architect and Quantity Surveyor.

I have to disclose that I am a Chartered Quantity Surveyor but my comments are not biased.

The only thing I did not like was the Quantity Surveyor was portrayed as someone who is there to keep the Architect in line and to cut costs etc.

In my opinion a good Quantity Surveyor is all about adding value to a project and to work in collaboration with the Client, Architect and Builder.

I read an interview with Bannon at the weekend. He seemed to be bemoaning the fact that the banks are very strict with what they are lending clients now and he can't afford to go over budget. He said a few years ago he could go come up with a design that would go over budget and the clients could just go back to the bank for an extra 10k or so.
Didn't sound very responsible to me.

Would you believe I missed it!

I was out at a meeting until nearly eight, then had a shedload of things to do when I got home.

Bannon is now legendary for cost overruns, but most of the projects I have seen him complete have offered very good value for what was delivered.

When clients start off with an unrealistically low budget, its always tempting to blame the architect.
The simple rule of thumb I have adopted is to multiply by first -

€80.00 per square foot = €861.12 per square metre

and then

€124 per square foot = €1345.50 per square metre

in the current economic climate.