Rent a room scheme - chasing up a former lodger for €s

serotoninsid

I have been renting rooms in my house for over 5 years now.

I guess I got a bit complacent and for the last couple of lads I didn't take a deposit (yeah, I know! :eek: ).

Anyways, guy left and had been on to him for the past year to get a window fixed/replaced (he broke the outer pane in a double glazed window). Have been ringing him - and the usual ...no answer (although I can find him if I have to?).

Question is this - can I file a case with small claims or district court with regard to this?

Small claims court is only for claiming against businesses, not individuals.

I'd suggest you write him a letter and indicate that you don't want to take him to court but are prepared to if he doesn't reimburse you. Spell out the precise dates of the breakage and of subsequent attempts at contact. Give him a reasonable timeframe to reply/make payment, after which you'll instruct your solicitor. Might be worth paying €2 to register the letter.

Is it really worth your time and trouble? Just get it fixed, learn from the experience and let it go.Life is too short...don't sweat the small stuff.

Small claims court is only for claiming against businesses, not individuals.
I thought I'd read something to that effect on aam before -thanks.

I'd suggest you write him a letter and indicate that you don't want to take him to court but are prepared to if he doesn't reimburse you. Spell out the precise dates of the breakage and of subsequent attempts at contact. Give him a reasonable timeframe to reply/make payment, after which you'll instruct your solicitor. Might be worth paying €2 to register the letter.
Will do. He's the type not to sign for registered post - but I guess in the grand scheme of things, it doesn't matter?
If he claims that he has no knowledge of it (I don't have any witnesses), where would that scenario be likely to leave me? (just thinking of potential pitfalls).
SPUDZ said: