P60 - one and only

Miner

I don't know why a P60 can't be re-issued. I've always ran off 2 copies and held one on file on the assumption that they will loose the copy I post out to them.

I know a P45 cant be re-issued because they contain a unique number on the cert but the same unique numbering system doesn't apply to the P60's.

Hi guys,

I would really appreciate if someone can explain the reasons why P60 certificates cannot be reissued?
I’ve been working in Ireland for the last 5 years, but I was just recently made aware that if your P60 is lost, there is no way you can obtain another one. What makes this piece of paper so unique?
My husband’s company sends them by post, so they did this year, but he never received it. Now he was told that there is no way he can have another copy. If they are so important and unique, how can the company just post them? And it sounds bizarre in 21st century that A PAPER is made so important, not the information it contains. And the information still exists somewhere, in some database, I am sure. So why not print it again? People lose passports and other important documents and than easily renew them, but no P60??? Must be a hell of a reason!

Many thanks,
Matilda

I also work in payroll and only print one original copy but then run them all through the photocopier and keep them all on file as without a doubt several people will come to me throughout the year looking for copies. I have been told that you can only print one original - but not sure why as the software lets you reprint. If your company won't give you another one, maybe they could put your payroll details on company headed paper - most banks will accept this as accurate.

then run them all through the photocopier

I'm curious as to why do you do this? - why not just reprint the P60 when they ask for another one?

LisaMatilda said:
And the information still exists somewhere, in some database, I am sure. So why not print it again?