Opinion on job rejection

Smokeygirl

Firstly I am new here so hello!:)

Background: Have a BSc and MSc in science/engineering graduate.
I would like to get into the area of Regulatory affairs but i have no industrial experience.
I applied for a temporary RA assistant position.
I was called for an interview after 2 days and I was told that i would hear 2 days later. I explained that i really want to get into this area and I am willing to work in any position. as I need experience.
After 1.5 weeks I received an email saying sorry but you are over qualified for the position.
Why did they even call me for an interview? Is this common practice?
Also they said that they would notify me within 2-3 days, and it took 1.5 weeks. is this normal also??

Any advice on future CV applications/ interview points would be gladly accepted?

Hi,
Welcome to the forum!

I can't comment on your particular career/circumstances, but my philosophy is that if I'm "rejected" for a particular job, it means that there is a better job 'around the corner' ! :)

Best of Luck!

Silvera.

Smokeygirl,

Were you called by the company itself, or a recruitment company? Lots of times, interviewers have quotas to get through each month, particularly in recruitment companies.

It is unfortunate, but you can be called for an interview just so that someone can make up the numbers for their monthly bonus.

smokeygirl

Having been around the block a few times myself all I can say is that what you experienced is not uncommon and as the candidate it can be quite frustrating. As Silvera mentioned, it could just mean there is a better job around the corner.

C

Thanks for the welcome Silvera.
I suppose I was just disappointed. You are probably right- adding to the numbers!!
It was actually the company who contacted me when I sent in my CV, they told me that the interviews had closed but would extend the date to give me an interview as they seems interested in my background.
Thanks for all your responses. :D