Non-resident but income paid from Ireland - can we claim back the tax?

GL01

Myself and my husband are considering an offer of employment in the UAE.

He will be moving within his company, from Dublin office to a UAE office, and was advised that in order to retain his valuable defined benefit pension, he would be 'on assignment' and therefore salary would be paid from Dublin. Advice was that he would be taxed as per Irish standards on this income.

My question is: can he claim back this tax paid on return home / at the end of the tax year if he is non-resident as defined by revenue.

Given that UAE incomes are tax free this is a pretty serious consideration!

Thanks in advance for any help on this.

I'm by no means an expert, but here is my 2p worth regarding the 2 options :

1. Your husband is "on assignment" in the UAE and is paid and taxed from Dublin at his current rates and retains his entitlements and accumulates years of service under the "defined benefits" pension scheme
  2. Your husband is employed in the UAE and is paid tax-free from there but loses his entitlements under the "defined benefits" pension scheme and the period of service for pension calculation on retirement. On his return from UAE he joins the pension scheme as a "defined contributions" member and accumulates years of service from the date of his return. His old pension contributions go to some kind of personal retirement bond on his departure to UAE.
Your proposal is a kind of a "have your cake and eat it" that I don't believe can work.

There may be more options but someone with greater knowledge than me will need to detail them. Have you sought professional advice?

Thanks for the reply. But I kind of see it as have a huge cake but not get to eat any of it!!