Newbie taxi driver - Ltd company versus sole trader?

D

Daffyduck

Okay.....I am a newbie here and so I have a few questions. Basically I was told not to do things the sole trader road as its dangerous etc...... So I was thinking private limited company but I have 1001 questions. If anyone can help it would be much appriciated! I'll break them up I suppose, into sections.

I am driving a taxi and have been keeping records of my expense and earnings but I have not got a clue about how being self employed works. What exactly needs to be contained in "proper books" can I do these myself? Do I need an accountant???

I have invested about €20,000 in total into things and just need a bit of advice.

I'll do a rough breakdown..... Car - €9250
Plate & licence €6390
Insurance €1500
Meter & sign €800
Tyres etc €225
Total invest - €18165

I would like to register a private limited company but I have a few questions. The above spendings are these "expenses" or what? and so can they be deducted from total earnings?

If I am a small time earner say under €30,000 a year, what what does PRSI, VAT and Corporation tax work, other taxes if any?

And claiming for day to day expenses i.e. Diesel, car services etc?

Also what way does a business bank AC work?

Any help much appriciated..... :)

I have changed the title of your thread to make it more meaningful. A Plc is a very different beast to a regular limited company which is what I presume you mean? Note that there are many existing thread on the "sole trader versus limited company" question that might be worth searching out and reading. Who advised you that sole trader was a bad idea in this context? You should certainly consider talking to a good accountant about many of the issues that you raise above.