New controls on landlords & rental properties

Agree

Many landlords have long since paid for their properties (or paying minimal mortgages) so they're not relying on rent rises to sustain any mortgage.While I tend to think that governments should stay out of the market place generally I think housing should be an exception as its such a basic need.If governments are expected to stay out of the property market then that should also mean removing interest relief and tax incentives.
I think if Bacons proposals had been given more time they would have helped FTBs.I still find it hard to figure out why its wrong to tip the scales towards helping those who want to buy a home.Invetors don't build houses,they only buy into the market.Builders and estate agents tried to say that fewer houses were built last year because of Bacon but that was patently false.

Rent

I am an Accountant, I own my own house, I don't own a second house so I have no rental Income.

A couple of points If I may:
1) I have made this point before , The country doesn't begin and end in Dublin.
2)There appears to be a" housing crises" in Dublin with substancial rents etc. I live and work in Tipperary, and yes I have clients who are Landlords. The average rent per 2/3 bed house would vary from £100-£120 per week. The rent in many cases does not cover the mortgage repayments and they have to dip into their own pockets for the balance.

3)These rented houses are often peoples pension policy.

4) Being a landlord is the same as being in any other business and the same reliefs should apply.
5) Likewise the same rights should apply.As to when they want to sell etc
6) The landlord doesn't owe anyone a foof over their head, the state is obliged to stop people from being homeless the landlord is not- its business.

7) Down this part of the country there was a slow down in the building of houses due to Bacon, maybe not in Dublin but my first point apply's there.