Need a "career" change. Thinking of teaching

griffid

I'm in the civil service as a clerical officer when I really should be at least an executive officer as I have a degree. It was bad luck and is a long story but basically I took the post and left my other job because I thought it's a foot in the door and I should be able to move up quickly enough by applying for other jobs on the publicjobs.ie site or for internal promotion. That was before I knew I would be stuck for 3 years on a commission where there is actually nothing for me to do. Now most people don't believe me when I say that but honest to god, there is NOTHING to do. There's only so much initiative you can take when you have no regular duties. So I recently had an interview for a better job in another part of the civil service and was told (in the feedback form) that I didn't show good innitiative, planning and organisation skills in my examples from my current employment. They were the best I could come up with without resorting to making it up!!! So as I'm getting nowhere here, I'm seriously considering a h-dip. Has anyone been in a similar situation? What would you advise me?

Sorry this is so long....

Could you take a leave of absence from your current position? I've heard it's possible to take a year (or more) off and still have a job guaranteed to come back to within the civil service. You could then consider taking a hdp for teaching - I know there's one in NUI Galway - see www.nuigalway.ie for details.. I think there's some around Dublin as well . Where are you located and would you be able to move for college ?

No, I have to stay working. You're right about the career break. Problem with that is the lack of money. We're about to start with mortgages and all of that stuff and there's no way I could take a year out. I'd have to do whatever I do as an evening or online course while still living at home (in Dublin) with the mammy and daddy.