Named driver on car insurance

Curleysue

Hi there, have a quick question.

I am a named driver on my husbands car insurance policy. His policy is up for renewal in the next few days. I had my own car but had an accident a couple of months ago and haven't been driving since (new medical condition prevents me from driving for 1yr) i went to renew my husbands insurance and it was actually working out €150 more to take me off his policy, so I decided to leave my name on as a named driver but obviously won't be driving. I didn't declare this to the insurance company and was just wondering if I should have. If I don't declare it even though I won't be driving will it affect his policy by making it nul and void ?

Last edited:
As long as you legally could drive the car, it doesn't matter whether you actually drive it. It's cheaper because insurance companies have found that policies taken out as insured+spouse have less claims.

As long as you legally could drive the car, it doesn't matter whether you actually drive it. It's cheaper because insurance companies have found that policies taken out as insured+spouse have less claims.
Thanks Odyssey06 I am waiting on a letter from my consultant to say when I can go back driving but I'm giving myself 1 yr , which should be middle of next year. So am I right in saying that technically at the moment I'm not legally allowed to drive? I might just ring the insurance company in the morning and explain it to them.

Sorry, I was answering a more specific question about actually driving the car versus being entitled to drive it.