Looking for views on issues relating to Letting Agent ("caretaker has keys" etc)

F

focusfanatic

Looking for any ones opinions on how I handled this and generally what can I do if it happens again and also the path that ye would have taken as this is my first time encountering anything like this. I also want to know what kind of basic laws etc had been broken in the course of these events. Also would you think I would be within my rights to just leave and find a new place even though I have a 12 month lease agreement?

Please note: Im not using this as legal advice, its just that I feel I should have been more angry about the whole thing and maybe kicked up more of a fuss that would have prevented it getting this far in the first place.

The Story ( I have changed the names etc in this so nobody gets in trouble)

A week after I moved into the apartment with my partner. Two delivery men delivered a table and chairs for the balcony (the landlord asked them before we moved in to do this), but they entered the apartment without so much as a knock on the door or a ring of the bell. They entered on their own without any supervision and my partner was in her nightwear as she was just getting up. We rang “Letting Agent X” to ask them to explain this and they had no answer to this and to get the keys and keep them in their office so none has access to them. The Letting Agent agreed that they would and that none but the landlord, them and us would have the keys. It turns out our apartment block has a “Caretaker” who has a set of keys to the apartment for absolutely no reason and he gave the keys to the delivery men without supervising them coming into the apartment. We got no warning they were coming or indeed entering the apartment