life assurance and STD testing

Q

query

i am looking for life assurance and notice that on many application forms that you are asked whether you have ever been tested for any sexually transmitted disease.
are you automatically loaded if you answer yes to this question? even if you had no positive tests?
and if you have tested positive for a non life threatening STD will this have a serious impact on the cost of life cover?

Life Assurance

IMHO you would not be automatically loaded. I think like all medical questions it would be assessed and only if found to be a high insurable risk that you may be loaded.
I am not a Doctor so I cannot say if an STD is classified as a high insurable risk however I personally don't think it would be.

The effects of non-disclosure is dangerous. They will possibly write to a Doctor and if they find out you have omitted items on the proposal they could reject the application. If at a later stage, you were diagnosed of, lets say, pelvic cancer, and you have not disclosed an STD and the insurance company found out about it, they could reject the claim, even though it may not be related.

When it comes to a life policy, honesty is the best policy.

Re: Life Assurance

Quite often your GP will advise you to get a HIV or STD test done independently as he will be obliged to put in on your record if you go through him. This is advised for precisely this reason. Agree with previous poster regarding disclosure so if you had the test done through your GP you will have no choice but to reveal. If, through an indepedent private clinic, you have got a negative result I don't see why you need to reveal this.

I spoke to my doctor about this the last time I had a proper check-up. She was aware of the situation re Life Assurance etc. and offered to ensure the (negative) results were not put on my file. If they were positive, it wouldn't really make much odds as then there would clearly be something tangible to declare.