Legal Question - Court summons for having a dirty reg

Morgause

Hopefully somebody here who knows about motoring offences will be able to help me.

I got stopped by the gardai at a checkpoint. I didn't have my license on me (I know! very bad) because I was driving my work jeep. I do most of my driving in my own car which is where the license was. I'd come off our very muddy roadworks site in the jeep and the reg was dirty. The guard said I would be getting a summons to court soon because the reg was unreadable.

Is this the sort of thing judges come down hard on? I have no experience of court and have no idea what to expect! Do I need a solicitor or do I represent myself?

Great to see public money being spent so wisely, first training that Garda and then to take you to court.

If I were you I would go to court myself (if you have a free day, because you could be in court all day) and plead your case. Jeep was off road/onsite and was due a clean.

I don't have any great knowledge of motoring offences, but I wouldn't have thought that an illegible registration plate would have resulted in a court summons. A fine certainly, but it wouldn't have struck me as something that result in a summons. Especially when driving without a licence earns you http://www.penaltypoints.ie/licence_offences.php (penalty points).

I've done a search on-line and I can't find any confirmation in either case, but I wonder if the Garda was exaggerating the consequences a bit to re-enforce the message? Did the garda take your details?

Thanks for the reply DavyJones.

Yeah I said to the guard that I didn't realise it was so dirty and I'd wash the jeep when I got back to the site compound but he ignored that.

I might do as you suggest and go to court myself; hopefully I will get a reasonable judge that I can explain the situation to.