Just over VAT threshold for last year

fizzy

I started trading this year as part of a VAT registered partnership.
Prior to this, both partners were sole traders for several years and not VAT registered.

It has now come to light that my partner's total turnover for 2010 was a few hundred over the 37500 VAT threshold for services. This only happened in the last days of the year when the last invoice was issued and even going by the turnover to the end of November, this was not to be expected.

There was no sole trader activity in 2011 - everything was done through the VAT registered partnership.
So, is it OK to have gone slightly over the VAT threshold right at the end of 2010 in these circumstances? Should my partner put an explanation in the expression of doubt box on his tax return to cover himself?

Hi fizzy,

Income Tax isn't VAT.
If he wasn't VAT registered and he didn't charge VAT there may not have been a major infraction.

He should ring the Revenue Commissioners VAT section before putting anything to paper or on ROS to be certain.
He should have all data to hand and explain the oversight, asking for written confirmation of what corrective measures he should take, if any.

That way he'll know the correct thing to do according to the Revenue Commissioners and have a record of the advice.
Unlike private professionals, you are not assigned a personal case officer - the file tells the tale.

Thus it is important to have documents and notes on file to guide the next person.
Don't be afraid to ring them - I've found they are very pro-active and helpful.

ONQ.

He should ring the Revenue Commissioners VAT section before putting anything to paper or on ROS to be certain, explaining the oversight and askign for written confirmation of what corrective measures he should take, if any.