IT jobs in the Civil Service

dubinamerica

I'm interested in finding out what sort of options there are within the civil service . I've an applied maths degree and have been working in the IT sector for 10 years as a developer. I'm interested in making a move into the public sector but not too sure where I would fit.. I don't want to start at a level of a leaving cert student and there doesn't appear to be a huge amount of IT jobs outside of Dublin.. I'm interested in moving to the West of Ireland.. So - has anyone experience of working in the civil service and what are the pros/cons. What is the working environment like ? Is there much flexibility regarding time off? One of my long term goals is to have summer months off - is this something that can be arranged ? Regarding work experience, I've been a developer in the financial services sector for a number of years and have a good eye for detail and procedure.. Any info on what type of job within the civil service could suit ? Also - is it advisable to apply 'on spec' or just wait for the publicjobs.ie site to get updated ?

Re: civil service jobs

The civil service does not advertise IT jobs externally, with the exception of one. I have seen an IT Administrative Officer position advertised on publicjobs, there was 000's of applicants and probably 1-2 jobs. All other IT jobs are on internal promotion only. You would need to have completed your initial probation, 2 years, before you would be even eligible to apply for a promotion. The civil service really does not suit people in your situation, the grades that the civil service recruits at are mostly lower grades with lower wages.

The only way to apply for permanent a job in the civil service is through publicjobs.ie so there is no point in applying 'on spec'. Working conditions are very flexible, some work patterns are to work 2,3,4 or 5 days a week, take 8 or 12 weeks off in the summer etc. Obviously your salary is reduced accordingly.