Irish health system

elacsaplau

Over the few days, following an A&E admission, I have been (too) up close and personal with the public health service - and it's an absolute shocker. It was really, really bad - no single outrageous occurrence - just multiple inaccuracies and poor diagnosis and prescribed treatment, coupled with outlandish delays. What struck me also was how really awful the communication was generally.

I've had mixed experiences over the years. When my dad died 3 years ago after a sudden illness, I can't fault the hospital for the care and consideration, the staff were brilliant but totally overworked. As an operations manager by trade I'd be looking around and thinking "how can I improve this". The sheer amount of paperwork is staggering and the delays in getting patients historical files out of storage and to the front line in this day and age needs to be seriously tackled. Likewise, I've had one of my kids in 2 different hospitals over the years for various treatments and again superb.

Having said that, I'll never forgive the Coombe for putting my wife in a ward with expectant mums after a miscarriage. She had to lie there and listen to some young one giving out about how she couldn't go out and get a few cans. Likewise and on another occasion (and in a different hospital) I'll never forgive a so-called nurse who didn't know that a beeping alarm meant an epidural bag had run out until I said to her (I could see the bag was empty). Having said that a public consultant at that self same hospital came back in a few hours after he had gone home to finish off the birth even though there was no need for him to do so but he said afterwards he was worrying at home over us. Hospitals are staffed by people for better or worse.