HR Officer laughing at stammer!!

buzybee

I recently went for an interview in a large Co. in the south of Ireland. This was for accounting work, albeit at a lower level than I am currently at. I wanted to get into a big company. There would be some speaking on the phone etc involved in the role, but even though I have a stammer, I deal with debtors, creditors on the phone in my current job, and I have 10 yrs accounting experience.

The HR officer was fine at the interview.

2 weeks later, I was in a coffee shop, when I saw the HR officer with another girl. She had seen me as I passed by her to get to a table. I could overhear bits of the conversation. Then I heard her telling the other girl about me at the interview, and the two of them were laughing. I suppose she thought that she could do what she liked when she was off work.

I was not very upset as I am in my early 30s and I have taken enough knocks from time to time. I was more annoyed at the fact that a HR officer could act so unprofessionally and could do this. I'm sure if a HR officer (or indeed anyone) laughed at a fat or disabled person there would be uproar.

I was just thankful that I found out what she was like now. It would be worse if I had changed jobs, and then found out that a core group of people would be laughing at my stammer.

I told the agency about this, just to make them aware of this individual, in case a younger person with a stammer would be going to this company for interview.

I couldn't be bothered telling the company, as they are a very large organisation and naturally, they won't want to admit one of their own behaved like this. I always wondered why this particular company had lots of ads in the local paper looking for accounting staff. Now I know there must be a core group of people in this company who make things unpleasant for others.