garda procedure at speed trap

theengineer

Does anyone know if someone who is stopped for speeding gets any paper work at the scene of the alleged offence. What is the procedure involved? A lady here was stopped and was suppose to be doing 80km p h in a 50 km zone.

She asked me, because she knows I have a law degree, however both her husband and I would be happy to see her face the music. I myself have a total dislike for speeding. I always feel sorry for the member of gardai who has to knock at the door of someone to say that a family member was killed due a road accident.

I would be delighted to find out the corect procedure if anyone knows it.

two points & Fine will be sent out by post in a couple of weeks - no paperwork at scene (at least I didn't get any!)

Normally they take the car details, and the driver personal details and check the licence and insurance details. If not to hand they give the mandatory 10 days to produce them. So if she was speeding she will be done !!!

just thought of something, does the member have to produce a certificate of calibration for what ever speed detector was used?

I wonder was it an appropriate speed limit for the area, it's not always cut and dried & it sounds like the usual carry on of Guards waiting in the 50km zone rather than out where the real speeding takes place.

just thought of something, does the member have to produce a certificate of calibration for what ever speed detector was used?
Nope, in law it is assumed that the device used is calibrated correctly. It is up to you to prove it is not. An impossible task.

That is a good point, I dont know exactly where this happened, but if it is a 50 km zone, she should drive at 50 or less, (Unless of course she was driving a govt minister)