Financial Agreement before divorce

dodo

Looking for advice on Financial Agreement before divorce. As would suit both of us rather than possibly waiting over a year for divorce to go through the courts.
Agreement we have reached with help mediation and both happy with this.
Husband buying ex out of house and house price agreed, ex needs her share of house now which Husband has .
So what is best way to go about this and what type of cost involved. Tks

Last edited:
Which party are you?

Are you looking to buy out the family home?

Do you have children? Pensions? Savings? Other investments?

So what is best way to go about this and what type of cost involved. Tks

I am not a lawyer, but this is what I understand happens:

Each of you goes to a separate solicitor.
Her solicitor will do up the legal paperwork to sell you half the house.
You pay her the money.

But if there is a mortgage on the house, you will need to clear it - probably with a new mortgage from the existing lender or another lender.

Brendan

Which party are you?

Are you looking to buy out the family home?

Do you have children? Pensions? Savings? Other investments?
Husband
Yes buying family home and ex moving abroad. Both have multinational jobs
Both will keep their own pension
Both will keep their own savings
Shares split 50%
No dependant children But they will live with father.tks

I am not a lawyer, but this is what I understand happens:

Each of you goes to a separate solicitor.
Her solicitor will do up the legal paperwork to sell you half the house.
You pay her the money.

But if there is a mortgage on the house, you will need to clear it - probably with a new mortgage from the existing lender or another lender.

Brendan
Mortgage is 60K and Both names on it and will try switch to new lender as on Pepper tracker 0.5% so I see better fixed rates out there.