Experienced property investor, but virgin stock market trader.

landlord

I am over exposed in Irish property and wish for advice on diversification. I have €100,000 to invest.

Brief history….I have 7 properties in Dublin, 6 of which are rentals. All are in negative equity, however they are very profitable on a cash flow basis, albeit being on interest only with 17 year terms left.

I have no experience of the stock market and have been told that keeping the costs down is as important as picking the right shares. I would be a low to medium risk investor and am considering investing €25,000 in each of the following.

FTSE 100 TRACKER

Legal & General UK 100 Index - 0.10 per cent (0.06 per cent through Hargreaves Lansdown)

FTSE All SHARE TRACKER

Fidelity Index UK - 0.09 per cent (The charge is 0.07 if purchased through Fidelity.)

EMERGING MARKET TRACKER

Fidelity Index Emerging Markets - 0.25 per cent (0.23 per cent if purchased through Fidelity)

GLOBAL SHARES

Legal & General International Index Trust - 0.14 per cent (0.09 per cent on Hargreaves Lansdown)

My information has come from the following article….

http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/money/...915/A-guide-cheapest-index-tracker-funds.html

Any advice appreciated.

They are all funds that you've listed. From your initial post I understood that you were interested in buying actual stocks which is a different thing and also has different (better) tax and cost implications

Ok sorry I guess the trackers are means of indirectly investing in stocks?
Would these trackers be safer than directly investing in stocks, considering I have no experience. I thought these costs seem quite low, just the CGT to pay on top?

Ok sorry I guess the trackers are means of indirectly investing in stocks?
Would these trackers be safer than directly investing in stocks, considering I have no experience. I thought these costs seem quite low, just the CGT to pay on top?