"eWorking" expenses

flibber

I'm an IT contractor and I'm a director of my ltd. company. The business is registered to my parents house but I'm currently living in a different residence, renting from a landlord. I do all my work for a managed services company which has different clients and I work from home for the majority of the time (I could technically work on-site at the client instead but there's very limited resources available there and reduces productivity).

I'm currently sorting out my accounts and I've been researching a bit about home office expenses & I came across this today: it's the IT69 leaflet (can't link URLs yet). Am I eligible for this allowance? I've also heard things like expensing 1/6th (or 1/3rd) of esb/gas bills is allowed but then this might have CGT implications and loss of PPR benefit? From my reading of the leaflet, any legitimate costs, including a portion of ESB, arising from eWorking would be ok.

I was also wondering that would expense claims like the above be affected if my lease that says you can't run a business from the dwelling (I wouldn't think so but from reading these forums it seems a bit ambiguous)? I'm not going to claim any of my personal rent as a business expense.

I'll be getting all this checked out by an accountant but I want to get an idea about it before I go.

Hi Flibber, not an accountant, but in a similar situation.
Your home office expenses - light & heat, phone & broadband etc can legitimately be claimed as a business expense. If you were to claim rent (which you are not) and other services such as cleaning, bins, water then you would have to pay rates as well. However, if you have no office expenses other than a reasonable light & heat and phone & broadband, you are in pretty clear territory.