Equitable Life - Pensions

M

mocna

A few years ago whilst working in the UK I took out a pension with EL (with profits).
Can somebody tell me what remedy is available to me now if any,
can I switch to another fund or preferably can I cash it in.

You can switch to another provider; whether you should or not is a very difficult decision, but a decision for you. You cannot cash in.

We're not really well clued-in on the UK situation on this Board. I suggest you have a look at www.fool.co.uk, where they have a discussion board devoted entirely to the Equitable Life.

Equitable life

I currently live in London and while I am no expert in this area I can tell you that in the middle of all the horror in America yesterday Equitable Life quietly announced an increase in exit penalties from 6 to 10%. so thats on top of the other problems with them.

Equitable Life

The best way to ensure security thru the EL debacle is to VOTE YES TO THE COMPROMISE DEAL.

EL is a very valuable company, despite everything, and will be ripe for a takeover after a Yes vote and halifax add their £250M to the pot.

Then you will see bonuses being restored and in all probabilty the MVA being removed (although this is due to the world economic downturn and not the EL situation...viz all other with profit companies have introduced an MVA since 11/Sept)..

It would be really bad advice to cash in a pension fund now.

equitable life wp pension

seems there has been little exchange here regarding EL's proposals to sort out the GAR dilemma

do any AAM readers know?

1/ what the media read is on the likely outcome of EL's proposals to its WP members, ie. are a sufficient % of GAR and non-GAR alike likely to vote in favour of the package for it to be accepted. Without this, it seems to me that all EL WP pension holders are well and truly screwed and we may as well jump ship and transfer now.