driving test tomorrow-any tips?

evanne

Folks I have my driving test in the morning and I was wondering if anyone can give me any advice. I didn't get any lessons (Long story) but I've been driving for 2 years with no probs. My friends (with FDL) have all said I should be fine after observing me drive.
So any tips/advice?? thanks
BTW I'm doing it in Naas Co.Kildare.

Re: driving test tomorrow-any tips??

Make sure your car is taxed and insured, all lights and indicators are in order. Also in this weather make sure your wiper blades are good and give the glass all round a good clean. Before going to the test centre make sure the engine is warmed up and the inside of the car is demisted. After that just take it in your stride, you may get a very quiet tester, don't be put off by it. Try and drive around the known routes today/ this evening. Use you mirrors for everything and move up or down through the gears as appropriate. My sister got her test last week after driving for a few months, it's all about confidence as far as I can make out.

Relax.

Without lessons at least in test technique, a pass will be a real achievement.

Let us know how you get on. Good luck.

You really need to make it obvious that you are using your mirrors BEFORE you make any turns etc. Seems obvious but after driving for 2 years you will be doing this simultaneously as you are so used to it. So be careful with that.

Also, keep to the the speed limits strictly. But you need to demonstrate you can go into 4 th gear at some stage of the test (a friend of mine failed because he never went into 4th gear at any time during the test).

Keep a proper distance from the car in front (another thing you probably dont do enough to past the test).

No chance you can get a quick driving lessen this evening? There are a lot of technical things you need to demonstrate that drivers dont do in normal day to day driving.