Deemed Exit Tax Calculation Formula

Trex210777

Hi folks, I have an Investment Plan which I took out about 20 years ago. I "prepaid" Exit Tax in 2017. I made a withdrawal in 2020.
I received current surrender breakdown but I'm questioning the Exit Tax due.
Where can I find more info on this or is there someone on this platform that could double-check it for me? I'm only a small amateur investor so not 100% on these things. I agree wholeheartedly with some of the other comments here re Exit Tax. Seems like such a hefty price to pay for what is a long-term investment. I'm seriously considering getting out of this and putting my money somewhere else. Any tips? TIA

It’s a while since I looked at it, but my understanding is that, let’s say:

- You stick in €100

- After 8 years, it’s worth €200

- After 12 years, you sell it for €259

So after 8 years, your deemed disposal charge is €41 (i.e. 41% of the €100 deemed gain).

Then after 12 years, that €41 tax on the deemed gain is added back to the €259 to give a notional value of €300.

Then 41% tax on the €200 gain is €82, less the €41 you’ve already paid, so just a further €41 to pay.

It’s a while since I looked at it, but my understanding is that, let’s say:

- You stick in €100

- After 8 years, it’s worth €200

- After 12 years, you sell it for €259

So after 8 years, your deemed disposal charge is €41 (i.e. 41% of the €100 deemed gain).

Then after 12 years, that €41 tax on the deemed gain is added back to the €259 to give a notional value of €300.

Then 41% tax on the €200 gain is €82, less the €41 you’ve already paid, so just a further €41 to pay.
Is it not more simple than that, after 12 years the total gain is 259 euros minus 100euros = 159 euros
the total tax is 41% of 159 euros = 65.19 euros
but because you already paid 41euros deemed disposal tax at year 8 then the residual tax due is
65.19euros - 41euros = 24.19euros